New Cushions!


Over the last couple of weeks, I have received all of my pillow and cushion projects back from the amazing Holly. I love how they have all turned out, but I am especially excited about the bar stool cushions pictured above. Holly really saved the day because she suggested a solid red piping, which they really needed but I hadn’t thought of. She went and found it herself, and it’s clear that they wouldn’t look nearly as awesome if she hadn’t done that. Here are a few more shots:

I especially love how the ties are short and fat. When I had cushions made many years ago (by someone else) for these same stools, I forgot to convey how I wanted the ties to look. As a result, they were long and stringy. Here is a shot from our old house, where you can see them:

I also got back two new covers for some of the family room pillows.

Here’s a closer look at one. Notice that there is not a bird in sight. I’m trying!

What do you think? I’m extremely happy with them. Of course I already have another project in mind for Holly, so I’m on the fabric hunt again. I think a Calico Corners near me just had a grand re-opening. I wonder if the coupon they sent is still good. Do you have a favorite place to shop for fabric? Please share!

17 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Amy B. on January 26, 2011 at 9:04 am

    Love the big ties! Much smarter than the little skinny ones, which inevitably get torn off at some point, plus, they look great! Well done.

    Reply

  2. I love the chair cushions! They’re lovely!

    Of course, in my house, they would also be cat toys.

    So..it’s a good thing their in YOUR house.

    Reply

    • I knew there was a reason not to have cats. ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh well, I bet they don’t wipe eye boogers on every conceivable corner of your house and furniture, like certain barky boys I know.

      Reply

  3. Oh I love how they turned out! The big ties are great!

    Reply

  4. Love your new cushions!! They look great! We have yet to venture to fabric buying, so I have no suggestions for places to buy. One day though! =)

    Reply

  5. Posted by Erika on January 26, 2011 at 10:21 pm

    Love it!!!! It all looks great!

    Reply

  6. Hello Nichole!!!

    Sorry I didn’t come here the last 2 days, it was my husband’s b-day and I had to get busy preparing some surprises for him… yeah, I’m that sweet! lol

    Love the cushions! Love the color! Your house is so beautiful!

    I am not sure about a fabric place there. I wish I could help you with that, but I’m sure you’ll find it soon.

    Have a great day, Nic! ๐Ÿ™‚

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Post of the Day: Tracery Interiors.

    Reply

  7. They look great!

    Reply

  8. LOVE LOVE LOVE the settee but I don’t have a place for it either. sigh…

    Reply

    • I know how you feel. I’m trying to talk my sister in-law into it. It would definitely work in her big new house. That way I can still visit it once in a while. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

Leave a comment