Lighting Makeover: Before & After

Ever since moving into this house in 2008, I have been on a (slow) quest to eradicate the shiny brass, cheapo light fixtures. As of today, we stand at 10 down, 2 to go. This does not include all of the florescent light bars in closets and utility areas. I really don’t know what to do about that. They are ugly, but energy efficient. So let’s just forget I even mentioned them. Okay? Pretty please?

A couple of weeks ago I mentioned here that I would be doing a product review for CSN Stores. Well, the project is done!

Before


After


I know what you are thinking: Where the heck is that?! It’s in this tiny hallway that has four doorways.

A shot of the tiny hallway.

Also, I would appreciate it if you don’t look too closely at the crown molding in these pictures. This is our house’s 15th winter. Apparently, the 15th winter is when the caulking goes on strike. It’s an epidemic in this place! Alrighty then, back to the light fixture. Click here to see the fixture at the CSN site. I don’t think my review is up yet. They said it can take up to a week to show up. We are very happy with the light and very happy with the service. We have never ordered from CSN before or purchased Hudson Valley lights before. Will definitely be spending money with both again. As I stated before, CSN gave me a $45 gift certificate for the review. The light was $129 with free shipping. So we are out of pocket, $84.

Coincidentally, our friends D & J gave us a CSN gift certificate for Christmas. We used it on another light fixture. Here are the results:

Before


After


This light can also be found at CSN by clicking here. And it’s even more on sale now than it was when we purchased it two weeks ago! Thanks, D&J! We have added a few more things to that same hallway in the last month.

Christmas present from the husband.


Where the picture cards from Christmas live.


Dear friends and family who are nice enough to send us cards, I am sorry that I have now failed to do Christmas cards for two years in a row. I will try to do better in 2011.

We also changed the fixture in the hallway leading to the downstairs guest room. But I’m a bad blogger and didn’t take a before picture.

After


I think I may have gone overboard on this one.


Is it just me, or is that enough light to land a plane at night? I may remove a light bulb, or two.

What do you think? Do the light fixtures in your home bug you, even when they are in places that may not be super visible to everyone? Or is it just crazy old me?

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stephanie Phillips on February 10, 2011 at 7:45 am

    Love the fixtures!

    You are not crazy, I am the same way. (So wait, we’re both crazy?) I’m on a mission to change all the door handles and hinges over from brass to brushed nickel. I’m not allowed to make a dedicated trip to Lowes for them and can only buy enough for one door at a time. Can you even imagine how painfully slow this process is??

    10 doors (5 are bedroom doors, 5 are closets) total. Only one bedroom and four closet doors left! At this rate we’ll have them all converted…. someday.

    🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by Sherry Brown on February 17, 2011 at 1:26 pm

      I was told by my contractor to buy all at once as the hardware changes are unbelievably fast! I found this to be true in a recent remodel we did in our kitchen & bathrooms. Fortunately, we were able to eek out enough to match in each room at least.

      Reply

  2. Hee!

    I would NOT settle for a 3 light fixture in our vanity. NO! I MUST have good lighting! Must!

    And NO 60 watt bulbs!! NO! 100 watt bulbs!

    So the bathroom vanity had 400 watts of light/heat over it.

    I could have baked cakes in the sink.

    After a month or so I came to my senses and put in 75w bulbs.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Janie P on February 10, 2011 at 9:58 am

    No, it’s not just you! I rent a condo, and one of my first projects was to amend the lease so I could put up my own light fixtures, noting that they came with me if and when I move out. In the order of importance, 1)must give off enough light that I can see where I am going, 2)should be relatively stylish, and if not beautiful antique, at least of the last decade, 3) builder’s spec lighting is seldom pretty or functional! So, it isn’t just you!

    I just recently discovered CNS, and am excited with their selections and pricing. I can see where they are going to be a great source for me.

    Janie

    Reply

  4. Posted by Ana on February 10, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    Say…. I want to know how are you loving the vaccum. Do you still recommend it ??

    Reply

  5. Nic,

    I must say that I’m impressed! You have a great eye for design. I really like your choices!

    By the way, thank you sooo much for your comments. I’m better today, thank God!

    Have a great weekend!

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Post of the day: DEXTER INSPIRED DECOR. (warning: it’s creepy!!!) 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment