Labor Day aka The End Of Summer

I don’t know why, but the end of summer still makes me melancholy. This makes no sense in my current circumstances. I am no longer a school child. I have no school children. The weather here is actually getting better. All of that makes no difference. Sad. My one reason that still holds water is: the days are getting shorter. I hate that.

Even though the end of summer is a bummer (I like that rhyme!), we had a lovely weekend. The husband’s parents came to visit. We went to the Bedford Blues & BBQ Festival and got to see Taj Mahal along with lots of other great performers.

Please excuse the Iphone pics:

The Main Stage

F-I-L

M-I-L

The husband and his dad also did some work around the homestead:

We spent a great deal of time on the back porch, which has had it’s cushions re-instated. So far, no more evil squirrel damage. It’s so great to be able to eat meals out there, now that the weather has cooled a bit. Mr. Bingley, in particular, is my father in-law’s biggest fan. He and Mr. Darcy like to go outside for nearly every smoke break.

Mr. Bingley's favorite toy and his friend.

Jealous Mr. Darcy

A rare moment of tug of war

The parentals were also the first to use the pink bathroom in it’s semi-done state. Here’s the vanity right now. Notice the new mirror is not in yet.

I really hope the new mirror works!

Here is the current state of the shower (this happened after my in-laws left!):

new fixtures coming soon

I’ll have to fill you in tomorrow on why my plumber thinks I’m a moron and his assistant thinks I might be sneaky smart. 😉

2 responses to this post.

  1. I’m not a professional plumber, but I think there’s something wrong with your shower.

    And while I mourn summer all year long, I seldom find the true sadness until winter starts, as I do love the fall.

    Reply

  2. Yes it is always bittersweet when the summer ends. But the fall is a fabulous time of year. Mr Bingley looks quite happy! Poor Mr Darcy…hehe
    xo
    amanda

    Reply

Leave a Reply

