7 Quick Takes Friday (Lessons In Non-Fundraising)

This post is hooked up to 7 Quick Takes Friday at Conversion Diary.

I haven’t posted in almost a week because I buried myself in cleaning and house repair tasks. And of course, I didn’t get everything done. The event we held at our house last night was not technically a fundraiser. No one was asked for any money. The organization is new to our area and they needed to get their name out. So that they may raise money in the future. When taking on a task like this for the first time, you make certain assumptions and have certain ideas about how things will go. What follows is what I learned in this process.

1. You may think that you have a group of like minded friends who will turn out for stuff as long as free food and booze are in the mix, but you don’t. Or at least I don’t. It’s surprisingly difficult to get people to take a few hours on a week night to come to your home and hear about something which they are quite sure will be boring and intrusive to their wallet. (By the way, it was neither of those things.)

2. I can’t really blame people for getting the wrong impression, because the invitations were ugly and not very explanatory. Which leads to number three…

3. If I ever do something like this again, I will not keep my mouth shut when I have misgivings about the process. I know it’s hard to believe that I ever do keep my mouth shut, but I did this time even though I was concerned when I saw the invites. Never again. Now, if I could just master being a big mouth in a tactful way…

4. Even when the turn out is not what you would hope, you are given the opportunity to meet incredibly nice people and learn about lots of organizations that you never knew existed.

5. When it rains, it pours. About an hour after learning that I had placed my food order at the wrong location (1/2 hour away), my vacuum cleaner decided to quit after 10 years of faithful service. Thank you, honey, for leaving work early to bail me out.

6. People will come up with the lamest/funniest/BS excuses in order to not come to an event like this. I’m really not being bitter here. Some of them were super funny! Note to self: don’t ever do this in the future. Just say you won’t be coming and leave it at that.

7. I learned shortly before the party that a good friend’s sister is ill. Please offer prayers for Marie.

Have a lovely weekend.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lisa on October 1, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    The turnout was decent, though, and will hopefully increase the knowledge of the organization exponentially! Thanks so much for hosting!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Andrea on October 1, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    I wish I could have made it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

