Before and After: The Wall Of Mary

After months and months of procrastination, the wall of Mary project is finally complete. I must confess to having been inspired by Lauren’s foyer at Pure Style Home.
foyer: before

foyer: during

more during

foyer: after

from another angle

We’re pretty pleased with how it turned out. Here is a rough cost breakdown:
20 frames from JoAnn – $100
20 custom cut mats and 20 pieces of non-glare glass – $220 (I think)
16 pictures from a book – $40
3 pieces of art from ETSY – $40
1 invite to a priest’s first mass – free (Thanks, Anne!)
1 borrowed ladder – free (Thanks, Ms. Sugarbaker!)
picture wire and picture hangers – $5
Project Total = $405

***Special thanks to the husband who put picture wire on all 20 pieces and climbed up and down the ladder on the stairs a zillion times. Thanks, honey!***

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lou on August 1, 2011 at 8:44 am

    LOVE IT!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Anonymous on August 1, 2011 at 9:07 am

    Well done! Love it – I’m truly inspired now! And just an FYI for future framing projects, though you probably already know this – I just bought two “ready made” frames from Hobby Lobby (at 50% off of course), and for an extra $1, yes, that’s right, $1.00, they put my picture in the frame, put a paper back on it, AND put picture wire on. For a DOLLAR! Love me some Hobby Lobby!

    Reply

  3. It turned out really nice!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Katie on August 1, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    I LOVE IT!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Erika on August 1, 2011 at 11:38 pm

    I love it!!!! It’s awesome!!!

    Reply

  6. You had me at Mary. I love it.

    Reply

  7. So nice to have art on your wall, I am staring at the same size empty space for a while now.
    Great job!
    x
    Maria

    Reply

  8. Posted by Shelly Campbell on January 6, 2012 at 7:02 am

    Thanks, I wouldn’t have thought of the custom matting, looks good. I am still trying to work up the courage to tackle one of these walls.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

