7 Quick Takes Friday


This post is linked up to 7 Quick Takes Friday at Conversion Diary.

1. I am still struggling with getting soda pop out of my life. The one day I went without, I had the worst headache I’ve had in a very long time. I’m going to have to figure out how to be tough and get through the caffeine withdrawal. Or (gag!) try to drink coffee.

2. The rat saga continues. We are going on almost two weeks with nothing caught in the traps. That’s also two weeks of us camping out in the blue guest room.

It doesn't look this tidy now!

3. Is anyone else watching Downton Abbey on Masterpiece Classic? I am loving it! It almost kills me that they show 90 minutes at a time. I could waste an entire day on it, if only they would let me see the whole thing at once! Back in the 1800’s, didn’t newspapers serialize novels? That would have put me in the nut house for sure!

4. A consequence of #2, is that I am uber paranoid in my house now. When vacuuming on Thursday, a large thing of gray lint got stuck coming out of a wall vent. I became convinced that it must be rat hair. I called the husband at work and said, “You need to come home now! And by the way, we’re moving!”. When he came home (at his regular time) and removed the vent from that wall, I was standing on the coffee table the entire time. It was just lint. I have issues.

5. Also as a consequence of #2, I have appointments with three contractors today. We have to fix the hole and all the places the rodents tried to chew their way in, but weren’t successful. This could possibly include changing all of the wood siding to fiber cement siding, so they can never chew on our house again. If anyone has any reviews of either Hardiplank or Nichiha, please leave it in the comments. Please!

6. Remember several weeks ago when I was whining about Rachel Perry going out of business? And how I needed to find a new moisturizer? Well, replacement found: Kimberly Sayer of London. It’s oil free, has SPF 25, and I had no breakout problems during the switch. I also purchased an eye serum and a night creme of the same brand. I’m really loving all three products. And my new dermatologist was impressed by the ingredients list when I showed her the lotion. You can find it on Amazon, but I got mine from this Texas company. I was trying to stay sort of local. πŸ™‚

7. I’ve been wondering about writing about faith. I don’t write about my faith on my blog. I have mentioned it a few times. It’s not like it’s not important. It’s the most important. But I’ve never felt comfortable talking or writing about it. Especially, with people I don’t know. Do you write about your faith on your blog? This should be interesting since I’m linking up to a blog that’s almost entirely about faith. And a very well done one, too. I feel that I am better when writing most of the time about fun or funny things. My personality is such that I love to laugh, but I can be bitchy and condescending if I get into an argument about religion or politics. So I feel that it’s better for me personally, to leave those topics alone as far as the blog goes. There are people who write about those topics well. Jen at Conversion Diary is one of them. Are you? Or do you leave it alone?

Happy Friday! I get to play in a friendly poker game tonight. Really looking forward to it. What are you up to this weekend?

16 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lou on January 21, 2011 at 7:32 am

    Do you really get up between 6 and 7 to post your blog??? And you can kick the caffeine…work through the headaches for a few days and your done:) After you quit for awhile, if you ever try to have a caffeinated pop again, you will have headaches from the caffeine which will motivate you to NOT drink caffeine. Best of luck to ya!

    Reply

    • I am usually up between 6:30 and 7:30 because of Bingley and Darcy. Now as to whether or not I stay up… First contractor appointment is 8 AM today, so I’m up 😦

      Also, I wrote the post last night. So I only had to hit Publish this morning, and do the linky thing. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  2. Posted by ehillgrove on January 21, 2011 at 7:34 am

    3. YES, they did serialize novels and it would drive me nuts, too. But I suppose that’s the instant world we live in now. I was wondering if publishers today might consider serializing novels again, to test the audience and see if people would hang on, week to week, to find out the ending.

    7. I tend to get really bitchy and condescending in arguments about politics and religion, as well. However, writing about my faith in my blog has been a HUGE help in stifling that. I know there are people who utterly disagree with me and who read it anyway (atheist friends, “spiritual” friends), so when I write, I have to be prepared to deal with their comments. It has helped me center myself (now I sound like a yogi).

    Reply

  3. Caffeine headaches are the worst!

    I think they published David Copperfield in installments… I would have DIED, I’m pretty sure.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Stacy on January 21, 2011 at 8:37 am

    Oh, Masterpiece Theater is my demise! I just sat there two Sundays ago and watched the Cranford marathon that was on and LOVED it! Still trying to get into Downtown Abbey though. I think I need to OWN Cranford!

    Reply

  5. Caffeine headaches are awful. Excedrin has at least one variety with caffeine in it. It’ll knock that headache right out of your head.

    We are watching Downtown Abbey, too. Last night I fell asleep half way through. (Gasp! – I know!) In my defense, I had taken NyQuil.

    Reply

    • NyQuil is the only acceptable defense! πŸ˜‰

      I have thought that I should start medicating with Excedrin. But then won’t I keep perpetuating the caffeine problem? Sigh – I really need to toughen up. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  6. Hello, Sweetie! πŸ™‚

    I was thinking about you today… you’re with me every single day at my post! Gee! Thank you so much for that! I even remember when you told me when Julia put my link on her blog.. I was so happy! πŸ™‚ You’ve been there since, eh? So, today I was thinking how special this is to me, Nichole and I really you to know that I appreciate it so much! πŸ™‚

    I hope you’re doing great at the poker game (do you play “Lady Gaga” while doing it? LOL) and enjoy your weekend, ok?

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

  7. I love your quote. “It’s not like it isn’t important, it’s the most important”, I will definitely keep that one in the back of my head. Simple but true. Hope you had a great weekend!

    Reply

  8. Hello Nichole!

    I’m just dropping by to wish you a very blessed week! πŸ™‚

    I love reading your comments! They’re always so interesting.

    Have a great one!

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

  9. Posted by Erika on January 24, 2011 at 10:42 pm

    Hi you…Pete says he would get the Hardiplank if we were getting siding on our house. He says it’s good stuff. And he’s not just saying that because they stock it in the warehouse and he got a free hat from them. πŸ™‚
    Good luck with the caffeine…I wish I could quit it too but it’s IMPOSSIBLE!! I did drink water last night instead of diet mtn dew, which you know is no small feat in my world. I’m trying!
    Please talk about faith on here, I always love what you have to say about it and learn so much from you (and lou).

    Reply

    • Tell Pete thanks for the Hardiplank endorsement. An estimate came in yesterday – oh my! Good for you on the water! I have some idea of how difficult that was for you. πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a comment